New mayor and rural directors highlight election results in the Lower Similkameen

This year’s election saw strong turnouts at each all candidates forum


The unofficial results of the Nov. 19 municipal elections for the Lower Similkameen and  Area “D” regions are as follows:

In Keremeos, Manfred Bauer is the new mayor for the village, collecting 399 votes to Glenn Goguen’s 125.

Keremeos council will consist of Gary Thielmann (351), Arlene Arlow (337), Charlene Cowling (317), and Jeremy Evans (403). Candidates Dave Stein (222), and Frank Kennedy (81) were unsuccessful in their bid for election.

George Bush is the new director for Cawston, with 220 votes to Lee McFadyen’s 149 count and Colleen Christensen’s 63 votes.

In Area “G,”incumbent Elef Christensen fell to first time candidate Angelique Wood, with an unofficial vote count of 289 votes to Wood, and 209 to Christensen. Third candidate Flo Winfrey won 53 votes in Area “G.”

In Area “D,” Tom Siddon, with 526 votes, is the new Area”D” director. Alan Whitman and Janice Johnson finished with 277 and 238 votes respectively.

Both incumbent school trustees for the Lower Similkameen – Debbie Marten (962) and Myrna Coates (931) -were returned for another term. Challenger Gary Johnson finished with 516 votes, while Sam Hancheroff returned to the school board for Okanagan Falls in school district 53.

Voter turnout was 50.42 per cent for the Village of Keremeos, compared to the  provincial average of 29.51 per cent. This year’s election saw strong turnouts at each all candidates forum, but that did not seem to translate into higher than average turnouts to the polls.

Unofficial results for the regional district rural areas are as follows:

Electoral Area “A” (Osoyoos Rural)

Electoral Area Director

Pendergraft 221 Elected

Simoes 169

Electoral Area “B” (Cawston)

Electoral Area Director

Bush 220 Elected

Christensen 63

McFadyen 149

Electoral Area “C” (Oliver Rural)

Electoral Area Director

Malcolm 202

Patton 285 Elected

Electoral Area “D” (Kaleden/OK Falls)

Electoral Area Director

Johnson 238

Siddon 526 Elected

Whitman 277

Electoral Area “E” (Naramata)

Electoral Area Director

Kozakevich 327 Elected

Stewart 164

Electoral Area “G”

(Keremeos Rural/Hedley)

Electoral Area Director

Christensen 209

Winfrey 53

Wood 289 Elected

Electoral Area “H” (Princeton Rural)

Electoral Area Director

Hope 315 Elected

Weber 245





Just Posted

Keremeos man says stem cell therapy changed his life

Darryl Brewer says he went from being immobile with chronic pain to leading an active lifestyle

Penticton resident’s dog allegedly stolen from construction site

Nicholas Bozak is seeking the public’s assistance in locating Askem, his 17 month old mastiff chow

Experience the music at the 97 South Song Sessions in Penticton

Songwriters Tim Nichols, Jimmy Yeary, Jessica Mitchell and Bob DiPiero to perform intimate concert

Okanagan-Shuswap weather: cloudy, showers expected

Environment Canada is predicting a mix of sun and clouds tomorrow and a sunny weekend across the Okanagan

Okanagan society sends seniors, shut-ins on boat excursions

Okanagan Quality Life Society has been providing Okanagan Lake boat rides for nearly 30 years

Feds lowered poverty line, reducing the number of seniors in need: documents

Liberals introduced a poverty line that was below the prior low-income cutoff

Luxury home auction kicks off in Lake Country

Questions circle around how an unreserved auction will work

$900M settlement reached in class action on sexual misconduct in Canadian military

After facing criticism, the government moved to begin settlement proceedings in early 2018

Tax take stays ahead of increased B.C. government spending

Tax revenue $2.1 billion higher than budget in 2018-19

Two toddler siblings found drowned on First Nation in Alberta

The siblings were found drowned on their family’s property, according to RCMP

Chiefs honour Indigenous leader wrongfully hanged in B.C. 154 years ago today

Chief Joe Alphonse says they want his remains returned to his homeland in B.C.’s Cariboo region

Lightning strike sparks fire outside Kelowna

BC Wildfire is reporting a small blaze off Highway 33

RDOS construction activity shows increase

264 permits, worth nearly $26M, have been issued in first half of 2019

Snowbirds touch down in the South Okanagan

Canadian Forces Snowbirds make pit stop in Penticton

Most Read